New school board members seated


Ceremonies headed the agenda of the Nov. 7 Englewood School Board meeting as the two departing members were honored, the three new members were sworn in and the board reorganization named the new officers.

School Board President Scott Gorsky opened his final meeting before leaving office.

One of the first ceremonies honored Gorsky and board member Tom O’Connor for their service. Gorsky couldn’t seek re-election because of term limits and O’Connor not to be a candidate in the election.

Gorsky then called up the three new members of the board, Tena Prange, Jason Sakry and Kevin Ebert, and administered the oath of office.

The board was reorganized with returning member Duane Tucker named president, Vicki Howard as first vice president and Tena Prange as second vice president.

There was no school board election this year because there were three candidates for the three vacancies, Prang, Sakry and Gene Turnbull. The election was canceled Sept. 3, and on Sept. 5 Turnbull lost a battle with illness and died.

The remaining board members established a process and sought application to fill the vacancy. They received 12 applications and narrowed the field to five finalists for interviews. Following the interviews, the board selected Ebert to fill the vacancy.

Prange and Sakry will serve four-year terms on the board. As an appointee, Ebert’s term is only two years so, if he wishes to remain on the board, he will be a board candidate in 2015.